The County Fair, that’s right, the fair!

free_990335

OK, I know that is onlys  March but I think it is time to start planning for your county fair entries. 

I have always been involved in the fair.  When I was younger I spent many weeks at the Coos County Fair.  I felt very comfortable in the livestock barn, the poultry barn, and all of those other buildings that contained flowers, vegetables, and photography.  I have put a whole plethora of things in that fair.  With the Coos County Fair in mind, I decided to make the move and enter random things in the Deschutes County Fair (slightly bigger than the Coos Co. Fair).  I couldn’t possibly do this alone, so I had Cameron partake as well.  Besides, when the kids have an entry @ the fair, they get in FREE!  Whoo Hoo!  So, Cam found a recipe in a Paula Deen Cookbook and made a bird feeder in the “Recycled Art” category.  I thought I had some recipes that were worth presenting and some great shots of the kids.   I thought my bread was to die for, not just because I think so, I have been told so (I wouldn’t want you to think I am vain).  What did I win @ that  fair???NOTHING, that’s right, zip.  Cam on the other hand (and Paula Deen) did well with a 2nd place ribbon (that means $$$, people).  Once I got off of my high horse, I decided I will be back with a vengeance in 2009.  I’m all over it this year, small town girl is ready for the “big” fair!

The Relevance:     Well, I think everyone should be involve.  Seriously, if you are thinking “I cant do anything”, there’s a category for you.  Anyone can do something at the fair.  So, start thinking about what you will be putting in your county fair, and do it,

 SUPPORT YOUR COMMUNITY, IT’S FUN!!!

http://extension.oregonstate.edu?deschutes/index.php

this site might help if you are in Deschutes Co.

Leave a comment

Filed under By the Way...

Leave a Reply

