Daily Archives: January 13, 2010

taking out the trash…or lack there of

I need to apologize for my absence.  I fear the void in my garden has left my blog blank.

I don’t think I have realized until now how inspired I am by the warmer months and the anticipation of life and growth.  I really do live for getting outside and being in my garden.

The weather has been warmer this last week (in the 40’s).  I found myself poking around in the backyard yesterday.  As I looked at everything dormant or dead, I thought of how much I hate it… from the lack of bugs for the chickens to eat to not liking guests to even look in the back yard.  I know that everyone’s yard looks just the same in the winter, but I can’t help it.  I envisioned what would be in the garden in the late Spring and where exactly it would go this year.  I could see the piles of compost complete and ready to be added to the garden.  I thought of where I want those raised beds to go when my husbands gets around to building them.

What makes this worse?  The stores, and the fact that they are putting the seed packets out.  I am sure that they do this just to torture me.  In Central Oregon we can’t even start our seeds indoors yet.  Grrr

Okay, enough of my complaining.  On to what I have been able to do this winter.

Being a family of four, we have always used a 65 gallon trash can that was picked up on a weekly basis.  Recently we were able to to downsize to a 35 gallon can.  We could do this because we have been very aware of what can be recycled and making sure it went into that can.  The food scraps that can’t go into the compost or worms are now going to the chickens.  Now our recycling can is larger than our trash can, and it has been working out great.  Not to mention we are saving money!  Yeah!

Leave a comment

Filed under By the Way...