Compost Troubles, I Think

HELP HELP HELP!!!

A few days ago I decided to turn the compost pile.  It is moving along very nicely considering it is winter.  I saw some of my beloved worms and some great soil at the bottom of the pile.  I also saw 2 mice that had made their home in my soon-to-be black gold.  I jumped as I do every time I see a mouse, envisioning them scurrying  up my leg.  I was disgusted, thinking of those gross rodents living in my pristine pile.

What to do:

1) Nothing, they don’t hurt a thing.

2) Get the out of the compost.

My questions about them being there:

1) Will they eat my worms?

2) Is their urine/feces harming my pile/worms?

I think I will find a way to get them OUT of my pile.  But before I do that, I really want to hear from you about what you think I should do and what kind of  damage they might cause.

Thank You

2 Comments

Filed under QUESTIONS???

2 responses to “Compost Troubles, I Think

  1. Yuck!!! I don’t know, but I think that’s not good. What have you done about them now???

    • dawnrobison

      Well…the mice are gone. They DID eat a lot of my worms. We moved the compost and I went through ever inch to make sure they were gone, and also to take inventory on my worms. I aerate the compost often to make sure they are not back.

Leave a Reply

